Cloud Desktop Support Articles

The Cloud Desktop is a powerful tool for SME's which acts as server & desktop. You can find more on the Cloud Desktop page.

Below are some support articles we have written to help our clients with common tasks.

Install the cloud desktop on a computer

Installing the software for the cloud desktop onto a computer is relatively straight forward.

First install the software;

Once installed, open the new application that has been installed. This should be called "AccessPad".

Fill in the following fields;

Server: desktop.tropicalcloud.com.au
Username: Your username (usually firstname.lastname)
Password: Your password for the cloud desktop

loginscreen.PNG

Once filled out, just click on "login".

Install the cloud desktop on a mobile or tablet

Installing the software for the cloud desktop onto a mobile or tablet device is relatively straight forward.

First install the software;

Once installed, open the application and fill in the following fields;

Server: desktop.tropicalcloud.com.au
Username: Your username (usually firstname.lastname)
Password: Your password for the cloud desktop

Once filled out, just click on "login".

Resetting your cloud desktop password

The Cloud Desktop password requires a change every 90 day by default. You will be warned prior to that 90-day deadline; however, you can change your password at any time.

There are two simple ways to reset your password;

  1. WHILE ON TROPICAL CLOUD DESKTOP: Simply press CTRL+ALT+END, the click the "Change a password" button.
  2. VIA WEBPAGE: If your password has expired, you will no longer be able to login to services such as the Cloud Desktop to reset your password; however you can still navigate to https://password.tropicalcloud.com.au and reset it there.

When selecting a new password please be aware of the following;

  • The last 24 passwords you have used are remembered and cannot be reused.
  • Passwords have a maximum age of 90 days.
  • Passwords must meet the following complexity;
    • Your password cannot contain any part of your username.
    • Your password must be AT LEAST 7 characters long.
    • Your password contains characters from three of the following categories:
      • Uppercase letters of European languages (A through Z, with diacritic marks, Greek and Cyrillic characters)
      • Lowercase letters of European languages (a through z, sharp-s, with diacritic marks, Greek and Cyrillic characters) 
      • Base 10 digits (0 through 9)
      • Non-alphanumeric characters (special characters) (for example, !, $, #, %)
      • Any Unicode character that is categorized as an alphabetic character but is not uppercase or lowercase. This includes Unicode characters from Asian languages.

Please note: your account will be locked out after 5 incorrect password attempts; your account will be after 30 minutes and you will be able to try again. This is a security feature to protect the cloud desktop from hackers.

Keep favourites in your browser – Chrome Sync

The cloud desktop is powered by many servers, and when you login most of your files and settings will follow you onto whatever server you are logging into. One notable exception however can be the Google Chrome browser. An easy way around this is to use Google Chromes own sync service, which allows all bookmarks, settings and other items to follow you wherever you are working (even on your mobile phone).

Sign in and turn on sync

To turn on sync, you'll need a Google Account.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click People.
  3. Click Sign in.
  4. Sign in with your Google Account.
  5. Click Ok, Got It to turn sync on.

Turn on sync

If you’re already signed in to Chrome, turn on sync:

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click People.
  3. Click Sync as [Name] (If you have another account, can can click Sync to another account).
  4. Click Ok, Got it.

Turn off sync

If you turn off sync, you can still see your bookmarks, history, passwords, and other settings. But if you make any changes, they won't be saved to your Google Account and synced to your other devices.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More à Settings.
  3. At the top, under "People," click Turn off.
  4. Click Continue.

If you have any further support needs, please log a ticket or call the helpdesk on 08 8922 0000.